OFSTED Inspection, November 2018


Read about our school full of “articulate, courteous and polite” students who display “excellent attitudes to their learning”. This is a journey of school improvement and we have only just got started.

Click the link below to watch our staff and students discuss how wonderful our school is.

Our School...

Highest number of applications for places in Year 7 next year since 2005!

Sports Results (Week Beginning 4th April)

4th April 2011

Year 10 Boys Basketball

STACS v Dame Elizabeth Cadbury Technology College (Cup Final) Won 46 - 24

Year 11 Boys Basketball

STACS v Dame Elizabeth Cadbury Technology College (Cup Final) Lost 49 - 24


5th April 2011

Year 7 Boys Football

STACS v Bishop Challoner (League) Drew 2 - 2


7th April 2011

Year 9 Boys Football

STACS v Ninestiles (League) Won 1 - 0


Individual Excellent Performances: (Who and Why)

**see write up of games on website for more information on the cup final's**


Other Activities which have taken place:

Monday 4th  -Yr 7/8 Rugby training (JTH)

Monday 4th  - FITNESS CLUB

Monday 4th - Trampolining (MYA)

Thursday 7th  - Netball practice (MYA)


Basketball Cup Finals

Year 11 Birmingham Basketball Cup Final 2011


Dame Elizabeth Cadbury 49 - St Thomas Aquinas School 24

Congratulations to the Year 11 Basketball Team for getting to the Birmingham Cup Final this year, which was a fantastic achievement for the boys.

In what was always going to be a tough game against very strong opposition, the boys played well but particularly in the second half, winning the fourth quarter 10pts to 2.

It was fair to say that Aquinas were beaten by the better team on the day but notable performances must be mentioned - Joshua Hudson, for scoring 9 points, and Keavan Myers and Nesta McCooty, for trying to take the game to DECS in the latter stages.

Well done boys!

Year 11 Basketball Birmingham Cup Runners Up 2011 are:

Nesta McCooty, Layton Bartlam, Francis Rosales, Keavan Myers, Joshua Hudson, Kevin Azuro, Sam Hawkesford, Chanda Chishimba, Reimar Williams, Kevin Murandu, Eric Dube, Kieran McCalla (injured), Josh McGinley (injured), John Duru (Year 10), Rusarn Peters (Year 9).

Mr Houston
Head of Physical Education

Year 10 Birmingham Basketball Cup Final 2011

On Monday 4th April, the Year 10 basketball team took part in a fiercely contested League Basketball Final against Dame Elizabeth School. This exciting opportunity arose as a result of a long, competitive season where the boys played superbly well against seven other schools across Birmingham, losing only one game narrowly against their archrivals Dame Elizabeth Cadbury. Emotions ran high leading into this final as the boys were desperate to rectify the disappointment of losing their last league match - and it certainly didn't disappoint!


The boys played fantastically well, showing their scoring dominance particularly in the third and fourth quarters. As well as a vast improvement in their defensive play, all of this accumulated to an impressive 46-24 Aquinas win! Credit has to go to all twelve players who formed the squad and it was most definitely a team effort in winning the final. Therefore thanks go to John Duru, Ken Azuro, Alec Mayor, Nadeem Luhar, Ola Oyeyemi, Connor Leahy, John Lim, Connor O'Sullivan, Josh Gannon, Chris Tierney, Rahner Puno and Rusarn Peters. Well done boys your KFC is on the way!

Mr Griffith
Teacher of Physical Education


Year 9 Birmingham Basketball Cup Final 2011

The Year 9 basketball team had an impressive first season in the league, winning 5 out of their 6 matches and qualifying for the city finals against Dame Elizabeth Cadbury. The game was played at a fast pace, with Tommies taking an early lead with two quick baskets by Rusarn Peters. This, however, was to be the only time we were in the lead as DECTC's fast breaks and accurate shooting meant we were always chasing the game and eventually lost 52-42.


It was a good team performance with a special mention to Rusarn Peters, who scored 39 of the team's points. The lads enjoyed the season and we will be looking for revenge next year. Thanks to Rusarn Peters, Bradley Walsh, Craig Haines, Jake Steenson, Daniel Henry, Dilip Raj and Liam Daly.


Mr Smyllie
Teacher of Physical Education





Other Sports News Articles...